One Word Album Review: Violent Soho’s ‘Everything Is A-OK’


Aw yes, the album review: A 300-500 word write-up explaining all the eccentricities pretentious wordsmiths love and hate about a band’s new album. While most reviews tend to hover the line between a positive and negative analysis, we’ve found that some seem to deviate from the pack choosing to spend their time putting an artist down for months of hard work.

We, on the other hand, would rather give the power back to the artist by letting them take a stab at reviewing (or simply explaining) their new music. And in order to make that process as easy (and fun) as possible, we’ve decided to give the artists one word and one word only to describe each song off their new release – thus creating the One Word Album Review.

Featured on today’s OWAR is Violent Soho’s long-awaited follow-up to 2016′s WACO. Picking up right where they left off with raucous grunge-infused tracks like “Vacation Forever” and “Lying On The Floor,” Everything Is A-OK is more than just a perfect quarantine soundtrack – it’s a frontrunner for album of the year.       

Now, before we turn this too much into our own review, we’re going to pass things over to the band as they carefully chose 10 words and GIFs to describe each track off Everything Is A-OK. To check out what Violent Soho picked, be sure to look below. Afterward, make sure to pick up a copy of the band’s brilliant new album here.

01. Sleep Year

One Word Song Description: Acceptance

02. Vacation Forever

One Word Song Description: Struggle

03. Pick It Up Again

One Word Song Description: Survival

04. Canada

One Word Song Description: Recover

05. Shelf Life

One Word Song Description: Maintain

06. Slow Down Sonic

One Word Song Description: Relax

07. Lying on the Floor

One Word Song Description: Forgive

08. Easy

One Word Song Description: Control

09. Pity Jar

One Word Song Description: Conflate

10. A-OK

One Word Song Description: Disconnect