Hear GWAR Go Acoustic For Upcoming EP ‘The Disc With No Name’

As we’re all fairly accustomed to by now, this pandemic has spawned a lot of strange and unexpected things. Adding to that list, as they’re no stranger to strange and unexpected, is outer space metalheads GWAR.    

Today, for the first time in their 30-plus year career, the heavy metal act has announced the release of a brand new acoustic EP. 

That’s right: Titled The Disc With No Name, the band’s new four-track effort features unplugged and reimagined versions of GWAR classics such as “Gonna Kill You,” “I’ll Be Your Monster” and more.

Commenting on the upcoming release due out May 28th via Pit Records, lead singer Blóthar the Berserker said, “During the quarantine of 2020 I spent long, lonely days with my hand down my pants, hiding out in a fortress made entirely of rolls of toilet paper, drinking hand sanitizer and watching 1000-Lb Sisters… which is business as usual for me.” 

“So,” he added, “I was relieved when I got the call to lay down some vocals on The Disc With No Name. We recorded this record over the telephone, which was fine with me, because I can’t stand to be in the same room as the other members of GWAR.” 

For your first look into the sweet and soothing sounds of acoustic GWAR, be sure to check out the stripped-down version of “Fuck This Place” below. Afterward, make sure to pre-order The Disc With No Name here.


01. “Fuck This Place” (acoustic version)
02. “Gonna Kill You” (acoustic version)
03. “I’ll Be Your Monster” (acoustic version)
04. “The Road Behind” (acoustic version)