While We Were Away: The Top 7 Things That Didn’t Happen at SXSW

If you’re reading this post right now, that means one of two things: You either A) survived a hellacious yet exciting week at South By Southwest and now need to be updated on the music news you missed out on or B) you are still at SXSW (even though it ended yesterday) and are still hungover on a 6th street sidewalk somewhere in need of a ride home. 

Either way, SXSW and all of its music related shenanigans have come and gone and now a ton of us around the office are in need of catching up. 

So, instead of pumping out article after article for readers to comb through and check out, we thought we’d compile all the things you/we may have missed last week at SXSW. 

Let us begin:

Beartooth, Never Shout Never and more added to Warped Tour 2015


Last Wednesday while we were out in Austin, it was announced that Beartooth, Never Shout Never, Ascot Royals, Rivers Monroe and Svetlanas have been added to the already jam-packed lineup for this year’s Van’s Warped Tour. 

For fans who have been somewhat down on this year’s Warped roster, the addition of Beartooth and Never Shout Never should absolutely excite plenty of young Warped-goers.  

Videos Surface Online From Matt Skiba’s First-Ever Blink 182 Performance

With A Day To Remember opening up for them, Blink 182 finally appeared for their first show of 2015 — which of course, didn’t include longtime co-founder, Tom Delonge.

With Matt Skiba of Alkaline Trio filling in, Blink 182 ripped into a gnarly 24-track setlist filled with a majority of throwback tunes — including “Wendy Clear” which hasn’t been played live since 2004. Thankfully for those of us who weren’t in attendance, not-too-shabby live footage has surfaced online via YouTube. 

To see the Tom-less Blink knock out “Feeling This,” “What’s My Age Again,” “The Rock Show” and “Up All Night,” make sure to check out the video above. For more live Blink videos as well as the full setlist, be sure to check here.      

The Devil Wears Prada Re-signs with Rise Records, Announces New EP and Parts Ways with Guitarist Chris Rubey 


While we were away at South By Southwest, The Devil Wears Prada had themselves a very busy week. Not only did they kick off their Zombie 5 tour with Born of Osiris, The Word Alive and Secrets, but they also announced that they will be releasing a brand new conceptual EP titled Space with their old label, Rise Records. 

While that may seem like plenty of news from the seasoned metalcore act, TDWP just also revealed that founding member Chris Rubey will no longer be a part of the band. To see a full statement from the group regarding Rubey’s departure, check here.       

Underoath Release Extended Trailer for Farewell Documentary ‘Tired Violence’

After teasing fans in January about their forthcoming documentary Tired Violence, Underoath is back with another glimpse into their farewell film.   

This time, instead of talking about how and why the film was made, the new extended trailer features a much more in-depth look into what the actual documentary will look like — which appears to be an assload of feelings bound to make any die-hard Underoath fan tear up.    

To see the preview for yourself, be sure to look above. Afterwards, make sure to pre-order Tired Violence here.  

Twenty One Pilots Announce New Album and Stream Lead Single “Failry Local”

After looking through all of last week’s music news, it appears that fans of Twenty One Pilots should be on Cloud 9. 

Not only did the electro/alternative/rap duo drop a new song titled “Fairly Local” and announce their fourth full-length album Blurryface, but the Ohio natives also revealed a headlining tour with indie-pop newcomers, Echosmith.  

Talk about exciting! 

To see the music video for “Fairly Local,” be sure to look above. For album and tour details, head here.   

Hands Like Houses Release New Single “I Am”

After teasing fans with news of a brand new single, Australian post-hardcore outfit Hands Like Houses finally granted listeners with what they’ve been waiting for and it didn’t disappoint. 

Titled as “I Am,” Hands Like Houses’ new tune is a hard-hitting, toe-tapping jam similar to the sounds of I The Mighty and Anberlin except with a special first-time ingredient —  frontman Trenton Woodley’s harsh vocals.

Yep, that’s right: If you’ve ever wanted to hear Hands Like Houses get down to the sound of an intense breakdown (rhyme somewhat intended), “I Am” is the song for you. 

After checking out the black-and-white music video above, make sure to download the track on iTunes here.

Secrets Announce Acoustic EP ‘Renditions’

Taking a page out of Issues’ book, metalcore band Secrets will be releasing an acoustic EP titled, Renditions.

The EP, which will be released April 7 via Rise Records, will include three acoustic tracks off of Secrets’ sophomore album Fragile Figures as well as their new song “What’s Left of Us.”

After checking out the new tune above, be sure see all pre-order packages for Renditions here.