The Acacia Strain Share New ‘Y’ EP, Announce Full-Length LP ‘Slow Decay’


Finally the puzzle has been solved. After releasing their various two-track EPs D, E, C and A, deathcore champs The Acacia Strain have just shared their final one titled Y (that spells DECAY, by the way).

Commenting on the last of the five two-track EPs featuring songs “One Thousand Painful Stings” (Feat. Courtney LaPlante) and “Earth Will Become Death,” vocalist Vincent Bennett said, “Shoutout to Courtney for adding her expertise — and different dynamic — to this song extremely last minute. Are we at the bottom? Are we at the end, or are we just getting started?”

While some fans might think that’s the end of new music from the Massachusetts act, the band is actually gearing up to release a full-length album titled Slow Decay including the DECAY EPs plus two previously unreleased tracks.

Detailing the 12-track release due out July 24th via Rise Records, Bennett stated, “The whole concept is reality breaking down around us. We’ve done our time on earth, broken through the boundaries of what reality actually is and we’re now witnessing our collective descent into madness.” 

“Lyrically and sonically, everything reflects that,” he adds. “You’re getting the vision piece by piece. The whole theme is a slow dive. By the same token, it organically becomes one record instead of just one big push out of the gate. As soon as you think you’re getting the hang of it, we throw out a wrench with the full-length.” 

Lastly, Bennet says, “There’s no evidence to suggest we’re aren’t actually in a living hell. The things happening around us could be out of a comic book or a movie. The idea is, ‘This can’t be real.’ Maybe something happened. Maybe we’re all dead and we don’t even know it. Maybe we’re just living in some augmented reality hellscape of actual planet earth.”

To check out The Acacia Strain’s two new tracks plus full tracklisting for Slow Decay, be sure to see below. Afterward, make sure to pre-order the album here.

01) Feed A Pigeon Breed A Rat
02) Crippling Poison*
03) Seeing God (Feat. Aaron Heard)
04) Solace and Serenity
05) The Lucid Dream" (Feat. Jess Nyx)
06) I breathed in the smoke deeply it tasted like death and I smiled (Feat. Zach Hatfield)
07) Crossgates
08) Inverted Person
09) Chhinnamasta
10) One Thousand Painful Stings (Feat. Courtney LaPlante)
11) Birds of Paradise, Birds of Prey*
*Previously unreleased