Periphery Frontman Spencer Sotelo Announces New Side-Project King Mothership, Debuts Lead Single “Cosmic Meltdown”

As we’ve seen quite a bit recently in the metal community, musicians are taking this time away from touring to focus on side-projects that might have been put on pause for a while. 

Take Periphery frontman Spencer Sotelo. After years of having his then-named project Mothership on hold, the talented frontman is ready to bring his work to life with the help of Periphery drummer Matt Halpern and ex-Slaves bassist Tai Wright. 

Now named King Mothership, Sotelo is chomping at the bits to share his debut 12-track effort The Ritual which is set to be released October 2nd via Periphery’s 3DOT Recordings.  

“Very excited to finally share this record with the world,” says Sotelo. “These ideas have been around for about eight years and it’s such an amazing feeling to have sculpted them into songs we’re all so proud of as a band. We had a blast making this record and I think it’s gonna be the first of many to come.”

As for the inspiration to re-work some of these songs again and finish the album, the talented frontman said, “I just got sick of hearing it in the demo form. I would have some Periphery fans hit me up every now and then, and they’d be like, ‘What happened?’ Somebody hit me up in my direct messages like, ‘What’s the deal with that?’ And I was like, ‘Yeah, what is the deal with that?’ A couple years ago I went back and started opening the sessions. I was like, ‘This is fucking cool.’ I was re-inspired.”

To check out the first of what’s to come from King Mothership, be sure to check out the lead single “Cosmic Meltdown” below. Afterward, make sure to pre-order the album here.

The Ritual Tracklist:

01) Hope
02) Cosmic Meltdown
03) Gold
04) Only You
05) Babby
06) Goodnight My Darling
07) Death Machine
08) The Ritual
09) Ego 101
10) The Devil’s Train
11) Imminent Distortion
12) I Stand Alone (feat. Plini)