Alt Press Music Award Roundup


For most of us, Alternative Press played a huge role in our lives growing up. Whether it was discovering our new favorite band in their “100 Artists You Need To Know” issues or reading feature stories about artists we admire, AP Magazine has easily changed our lives musically one way or another.   

In celebration of AP Magazine, the first ever Alternative Press Music Awards, aka the APMAs, took place this week in Cleveland, Ohio. Hosted by Blink 182’s Mark Hoppus, the show went off without a hitch and was packed to the brim with all sorts of musical talent. Presenters and performers included the likes of Caleb Shomo of Beartooth, Keith Buckley and Andy Williams of Every Time I Die, Body Count, Craig Owens of Chiodos, Tyler Carter of Issues, Coolio, Vic Fuentes, The Misfits and plenty more.

To see clips from the inaugural award show, head to AP’s YouTube page here. For the show’s winners, you can see the entire list below.

Artist of the Year Presented by Monster Energy Drink:

Winner: Fall Out Boy

Album of the Year presented by Journeys:

Winner: Bring Me the Horizon - Sempiternal

Artist Philanthropic Award Presented by Sub City / Take Action:

Winner: All Time Low - Skate4Cancer

Best Live Band:

Winner: Pierce the Veil

Breakthrough Band:

Winner: Crown the Empire

Song of the Year

Winner: All Time Low (feat. Vic Fuentes) - “A Love Like War“

Best International Band:

Winner: Bring Me the Horizon (U.K.)

Most Dedicated Fans Presented by Fearless Records:

Winner: Black Veil Brides

Best Guitarist:

Winner: Phil Manansala (Of Mice & Men)

Best Bassist:

Winner: Jaime Preciado (Pierce the Veil)

Best Drummer:

Winner: Mike Fuentes (Pierce the Veil)

Best Vocalist:

Winner: Brendon Urie (Panic! At The Disco)

Alternative Press Vanguard Award

Winner: Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins)

Alternative Press Icon Award

Winner: Joan Jett (Joan Jett & the Blackhearts)

Alternative Press Guitar Legend:

Winner: Slash (Guns N’ Roses)